Library · Cards and issuers

Amex Blue Business Plus: Complete 2026 Guide

Patrick PychynskiUpdated October 5, 202619 min read

The take

The Blue Business Plus pays in Membership Rewards points. Whether that beats a flat 2% cash card depends on one number you control: what you redeem a point for.

  • ✓The terms are simple. No annual fee, 0.0% intro APR on purchases for 12 months, a variable 16.99% to 28.74% after that, and a welcome offer of 15,000 points after $3,000 in eligible purchases in the first 3 months (American Express).
  • ✓The earning rate is 2X points on the first $50,000 of purchases per calendar year, then 1X. On exactly $50,000, that is 100,000 points. At Amex's own statement-credit value of 0.6 cents a point, that is $600. At 1 cent a point it is $1,000. At 2 cents it is $2,000. The card is worth what you redeem it for.
  • ✓Expanded Buying Power is not a 0% extension. Spending above your credit limit is due in full as part of that month's minimum payment. It gives you room to buy. It does not give you more interest-free float.
  • ✓It is a Round 1 and Round 2 tool. Same file. Same banks. Different order. The Bankable Blueprint™ places Amex first in a same-day round when an existing relationship supports a soft-pull path, and this card is one of the two no-annual-fee doors in that slot.

2. The full terms, straight from Amex

Everything in this table comes from American Express's own comparison page unless noted. Offers change, and Amex tailors some offers to the applicant, so confirm what you are shown before you apply.

Blue Business Plus Credit Card from American Express: terms as published
ItemWhat Amex publishesWhat it means for your file
Annual fee$0 (American Express)Keeping the card open costs nothing. A card you never close is a card that keeps its account history.
Welcome offer15,000 Membership Rewards points after $3,000 in eligible purchases on the Card within the first 3 months (American Express)$3,000 in three months is $1,000 a month of spend you should already be doing.
Intro APR0.0% on purchases for 12 months from the date of account openingAt the 12-month mark a balance starts costing money. See our 0% exit plan.
Regular APRVariable, 16.99% to 28.74%, based on creditworthiness; will not exceed 29.99% (NerdWallet)On $30,000, the gap between the low and high ends is about $3,525 a year.
Earning2X points on the first $50,000 of eligible purchases per calendar year, 1X after; no category restrictions (American Express)The rate is flat across categories, so it fits an owner whose spend is spread across vendors.
Foreign transaction fee2.7% of each transaction after conversion to U.S. dollars (NerdWallet)On $10,000 of overseas purchases that is $270. The 2X does not cover it at most redemption values.
Employee cardsNo additional fee; purchases earn points for the account (American Express)Consolidates team spending onto one card and one set of points.

One more structural fact, the same one that applies to every Tier 1 card in a Blueprint round. Business card balances at the five Tier 1 issuers, Chase, American Express, US Bank, Bank of America and Wells Fargo, are not reported as ongoing balances to your personal credit bureaus. Hard inquiries from the application do show on the personal file. A personal guarantee applies. There is no EIN-only version of this card for a young business, and anyone telling you otherwise is selling something.

3. What a point is actually worth

A points card pays you in a currency whose value you set. That sentence is the whole decision. Here is what Amex itself publishes about what a Membership Rewards point is worth, by how you redeem it.

Membership Rewards redemption values, as stated by Amex and Forbes Advisor
How you redeemValue per pointOn 100,000 points (a full $50,000 year at 2X)
Statement credit0.6 cents (American Express)$600
Pay with Points at checkout0.7 to 1 cent (American Express)$700 to $1,000
Flights through Amex Travel1 cent (American Express)$1,000
Other travel through Amex Travel, such as prepaid hotels0.7 cents$700
Gift cardsUp to 1 cent; 0.5 to 1 cent by brand (Forbes Advisor)$500 to $1,000
Airline and hotel transfersVaries by redemption. Forbes says airline transfers could lead to 2 cents a point or more$2,000 or more in a strong case

Read the table as a range, not a promise. The worst realistic redemption pays 0.6 cents a point, which turns a "2X" card into a card that returns 1.2 cents on the dollar. The ordinary good redemption, a flight at 1 cent, returns 2 cents on the dollar, the same as a flat 2% cash card. A transfer redemption done well can return more. Amex says most transfer partners move points at a 1:1 ratio, with some exceptions (American Express), and Forbes lists 20 partners across airlines and hotels.

The owner translation is a break-even point. A flat 2% cash card on $50,000 of spend returns $1,000. This card matches that at 1 cent a point and beats it above 1 cent. Below 1 cent it loses. If you will cover statement charges with points because it is easy, you are redeeming at 0.6 cents and leaving $400 a year on the table compared with cash. If you redeem for flights you were going to buy anyway, you are even. If you plan the transfers, you are ahead.

At a heavier spend level the same logic scales. Put $150,000 of annual purchases on this one card and you earn 100,000 points on the first $50,000 and 100,000 more at 1X on the remaining $100,000, for 200,000 points. At 1 cent that is $2,000, a blended 1.33% of spend. At 0.6 cents it is $1,200, a blended 0.8%. The cap on the 2X rate is why this card is a tool for the first $50,000, not a place to run an entire operation.

4. The welcome offer in real dollars

The published offer is 15,000 points after $3,000 in eligible purchases within the first 3 months. Put dollars on it using the same values.

Value of the 15,000-point welcome offer by redemption
RedemptionValue
Statement credit at 0.6 cents$90
Pay with Points at 0.7 cents$105
Flights through Amex Travel at 1 cent$150
A strong transfer at 2 cents$300

The offer is worth $90 to $300 depending on how you redeem. It is a nice extra and not the reason to open the card. The $3,000 spend requirement is also a planning item. If $3,000 in three months is routine for your business, the offer is free. If you would have to pull spend forward or invent purchases to hit it, the offer costs you more than it pays. Do not buy things you do not need to earn $90.

The $3,000 also counts toward the $50,000 annual threshold. In a first calendar year, those points are not extra on top of the 2X cap. They are part of the same spend. For a card opened late in the year, the calendar-year reset matters: a card opened in October has only a few months before the threshold resets in January. We walk through that calendar effect on the sibling card in our Blue Business Cash guide, and the same logic applies here.

Amex sometimes shows different offers to different applicants. The compare page does not state whether this offer varies by applicant, and press coverage has noted that earlier public offers on these cards were later withdrawn (CNBC). Treat the number you see at application as the real one.

5. Expanded Buying Power: useful, and not a 0% extension

Expanded Buying Power is the feature owners misread most often on this card. Amex describes it as the ability to make purchases above your credit limit. The amount is flexible and adapts to your card use, payment history, credit record and financial resources known to Amex, and it is "not unlimited" (American Express).

The part that matters for a 0% strategy is how the excess is repaid. The amount spent above your limit is added to your minimum payment due and must be paid in full by the end of the billing cycle. If it is paid in full and on time, there is no over-limit fee and no interest on the amount above the limit. If it is not, the penalty rate applies to the entire balance, including the amount above the limit (American Express).

Run it in dollars. Suppose your credit limit is $20,000 and you carry a $19,000 balance on the 0% intro. A $6,000 equipment purchase goes through on Expanded Buying Power. That $6,000 is due in full in this month's minimum payment, on top of your normal minimum. It is not sitting at 0% for 12 months. It is a short-term spend that you must be able to pay inside the cycle. If you cannot, the consequence is the penalty rate on the whole balance, which is a far larger cost than the purchase.

So the feature does two different things depending on how you treat it. As a way to avoid a declined transaction on a payment you can cover this month, it is genuinely useful. As a way to stretch 0% capacity, it does nothing. A stacking plan sizes the 0% float by the credit limit, not by Expanded Buying Power. Amex also lets you check whether a specific purchase above the limit will be approved using its Check Spending Power tool, which is worth using before a large purchase, not after.

6. The fee and the rate that follow the 0%

Two costs sit on either side of the zero. One is the foreign transaction fee. The other is the APR that arrives when the 12 months end.

The foreign transaction fee

The card charges 2.7% of each transaction after conversion to U.S. dollars (NerdWallet). On $10,000 of purchases from overseas vendors that is $270. On $25,000 it is $675. The 2X earn on that spend, at 1 cent a point, is $200 on $10,000, which does not cover the fee. If a meaningful share of your vendor spend is overseas, this is the wrong card for that spend, and a different instrument is the better home for it.

The post-intro APR

The regular APR is variable and runs from 16.99% to 28.74%, based on your creditworthiness at account opening. Where you land in that range is set at approval. On a $30,000 balance carried past the intro window, the low end costs about $425 a month in interest and the high end about $719 a month. A 1% to 1.5% minimum payment on that balance is $300 to $450 and does not retire it. We cover the full exit math, with a 120-day countdown, in our 0% exit plan.

It is worth saying once more because it is the most common misunderstanding: 0% does not mean zero monthly payment. Every card needs a monthly payment during the window, and for planning purposes owners should assume roughly 1% to 1.5% of the balance. On a $30,000 balance that is $300 to $450 a month, every month, from month one.

7. Employee cards, bookkeeping and the points cap

Employee cards carry no additional annual fee, and purchases on them earn Membership Rewards points for the account (American Express). The card page also lists an accounting-software connection that sends employee transactions and matched receipts daily, with enrollment required, and an Account Manager role that can manage the account.

For an owner with a team, the owner-level value is control and cleaner books. Putting recurring vendor spend on employee cards under one account means one statement, one set of points and one payment. The dollar angle is the cap. The page says points are earned at 2X on the first $50,000 of eligible purchases per calendar year, and it does not say how that threshold applies across employee cards on the same account, so confirm that with Amex before planning around a combined number. If the team's spend would push the account well above $50,000, the extra spend earns 1 point per dollar and you may be better off splitting the load with the sibling cash card or another Tier 1 card.

Points also have a housekeeping side. NerdWallet's review notes that Membership Rewards points do not expire as long as the cardholder has an open Amex points card, and describes this card as a no-annual-fee way to keep a points balance alive (NerdWallet). That is a reason not to close it after the 0% window ends. We have not verified that rule against Amex's own terms, so check them before you rely on it.

8. Where it sits in the three rounds

The Bankable Blueprint™ runs capital in same-day rounds, not one card at a time. Round 1 sits at about month three with all five Tier 1 issuers on the same day: Chase, American Express, US Bank, Bank of America and Wells Fargo. Round 2 sits at about months seven and eight with four issuers, skipping Wells Fargo for the utilization reasons in our Round 2 piece. Round 3 sits at about months eleven and twelve with all five again (why the final round exists).

Round 1: Amex goes first when the relationship supports it

American Express is placed first in a same-day round when an existing Amex relationship supports a soft-pull path, because it can add real 0% capacity without spending one of the round's hard inquiries. The bureau routing, the soft-pull logic and the case where a cold Amex application is the wrong first move are covered in detail in our Blue Business Cash guide, and the issuer's own velocity rules are in our Amex velocity rules guide. We do not repeat them here. The point for this card is that it competes for the same slot as the cash version. A file normally takes one of the two as its first Amex door, not both on the same morning for the same purpose.

Round 2 and Round 3: a second life for the card

If the file has a Blue Business Plus from an earlier round, the card does not need to be touched in later rounds. It keeps working: a $0 annual fee means keeping it costs nothing, the account history stays on the file, and its 0% window has already run. In a later round you are choosing which new doors to open, and the Amex slot may be a different Amex product. Which one depends on the owner's spend profile and the points habits from section 3.

The exit calendar

The 12-month intro window on a Round 1 card opened at month three ends around month fifteen. Balances on this card then reprice at 16.99% to 28.74%. The to-zero payment on a $30,000 balance over 12 months is $2,500 a month, against a minimum of $300 to $450. That gap is the reason the exit plan starts before the money is spent. Our 0% exit plan lays out the five exit routes and the 120-day countdown.

9. Plus or Cash: the one-line test

The full side-by-side lives in our Blue Business Cash guide. This card and the cash card share the same $0 fee, the same 12-month 0% window and the same $50,000 threshold at the top earning rate. The only difference is what the top rate pays in. Here is the whole decision in one table.

Which Amex no-annual-fee card fits which owner, on $50,000 of annual spend
If your honest answer isCardWhat it returns on $50,000
"I will never redeem points for travel"Blue Business Cash$1,000 in cash back, guaranteed
"I will redeem for flights or at checkout when it is easy"Either; the Plus is roughly even$700 to $1,000 in points value
"I plan transfers to airline or hotel programs"Blue Business Plus$1,000 to $2,000 or more in points value
"I use statement credits because it is simplest"Blue Business Cash$600 in points value versus $1,000 in cash

A tie-breaker owners rarely consider is the point balance itself. NerdWallet's review indicates points can be pooled with personal Membership Rewards points, which can make a larger balance for a single transfer. We could not confirm the pooling rules on an Amex page, so check them before you plan around it. If you hold no other Amex points, there is no pooling benefit and the cash card is simpler. The honest framing is that neither card is better. They answer different habits.

10. Five mistakes owners make with this card

1. Assuming "2X" means 2%

2X points is a number of points. Its dollar value is yours to set. At 0.6 cents a point it is 1.2% back, not 2%. Decide how you will redeem before you decide this card beats cash.

2. Treating Expanded Buying Power as extra 0% capacity

The amount above your limit is due in full each month. A $6,000 purchase on Expanded Buying Power is a $6,000 payment this cycle. Size the stack by the credit limit.

3. Running overseas spend on it

A 2.7% foreign transaction fee costs $270 on $10,000. The points do not cover it. Use another instrument for foreign vendors.

4. Chasing the welcome offer

The offer is worth $90 to $300. Do not pull forward purchases to hit $3,000 in three months. Spend you did not need costs more than the offer pays.

5. Forgetting the date the 0% ends

A balance that was free for 12 months costs about $425 to $719 a month per $30,000 afterward. Put the end date on a calendar the day the card is approved. A late payment can also end a promotional rate early on cards of this type, so set autopay for at least the minimum.

11. Questions owners ask about this card

Is the Blue Business Plus a charge card or a credit card?

It is a credit card with a credit limit and an interest rate. It has a 0.0% intro APR on purchases for 12 months, then a variable APR of 16.99% to 28.74%. That is different from an Amex charge card, which has no preset limit and expects payment in full each month.

Does a large balance on this card hurt my personal credit?

Business card balances at the five Tier 1 issuers are not reported as ongoing balances to personal bureaus. The hard inquiry from the application does appear on the personal file, and your personal guarantee means the debt is yours either way.

How many Membership Rewards transfer partners are there?

Sources disagree on the count. Forbes Advisor lists 20 partners with their ratios, and NerdWallet's review of this card describes transfers to a set of airline and hotel partners. Amex's own card page cites 19 partners. Check the live list in your account before planning a transfer.

What is a Membership Rewards point worth if I just want cash?

Amex states 0.6 cents a point for a statement credit. On 100,000 points that is $600. A flat 2% cash card returns $1,000 on the same $50,000 of spend. If cash is the goal, the cash card is the better fit.

What happens if I do not pay the Expanded Buying Power amount on time?

Amex states that the amount above your limit must be paid in full by the end of the billing cycle in which it is due to avoid interest on it. If the minimum payment due is not paid by then, the penalty rate applies to the entire balance, including the amount above the limit.

Can I get this card without a personal guarantee if my EIN has good credit?

No. A personal guarantee applies on Tier 1 business cards. An entity can stand on its own only at roughly $3 million in revenue, plus reserves, plus all four Legs of Bankability.

Should I close the card after the 0% window ends?

Decide that with your advisor before you act. The card has a $0 annual fee, so keeping it open costs nothing, and it keeps the account history on the file. Closing it also removes a place to hold points.

12. What we could not verify

  • Amex's own pages did not state the Membership Rewards transfer-partner count consistently. The card page cites 19, Forbes Advisor lists 20, and CNBC's review says 20 or more. We cite the sources by name and tell you to check your account.
  • The foreign transaction fee (2.7%) and the "points do not expire while you hold an open Amex points card" rule come from NerdWallet's review, not from an Amex page we could read. Confirm both in your cardmember terms.
  • Amex's pages do not say how the $50,000 annual threshold applies across employee cards on one account. Confirm with Amex.
  • Welcome offers change and can vary by applicant. The 15,000-point offer is the one on Amex's compare page this week.
  • Dollar values for points depend on how and when you redeem. We use Amex's published values and Forbes Advisor's. A strong transfer value is a best case, not a planning number.

13. What this means for your file

The Blue Business Plus is a points card with a 12-month 0% window. Its value to you is set by your redemption habits, its Expanded Buying Power is a payment obligation and not extra float, and its 0% ends on a date you should write down on the day of approval. Same file. Same banks. Different order. Which door opens first, and what retires each balance, is the work of the Bankable Blueprint™.

Book a Bankable Blueprint Call

Related reading, already on this site:

14. Compliance

This article is educational. It is not credit, legal, tax, or financial advice and not a lending offer. Stacking Capital is a 1:1 capital advisory. We are not a bank, a lender, or a broker.

Terms change. Offers, rates, fees and point values cited here come from the sources below as read in early October 2026. Your cardmember agreement controls. Dollar examples are illustrations of arithmetic, not quotes or projections.

Approval is not guaranteed. A personal guarantee applies on the Tier 1 business credit products described in this article.

Sources: American Express, compare no-annual-fee business cards; American Express, Blue Business Plus; American Express, Expanded Buying Power; American Express, Membership Rewards points value; NerdWallet review; Forbes Advisor, best ways to use Amex points; CNBC Select review; CNBC Select, welcome offers.

Disclaimer: Educational content only. Not credit, legal, tax, or financial advice. Card terms, offers and point values change; confirm current terms with American Express before applying. Approval is not guaranteed. Published: .

Schedule your Bankable Blueprint Call

Bring the file. We decide which Amex door opens first, and what retires the balance.

The Bankable Scan™ reads the personal and business file the way a bank does. The Bankable Blueprint™ writes the order: compliance items, bureau capacity, the 0% doors that fit the file now, and the plan for what happens when each window ends. 0% is the start. Bankable is the process.

Book a Bankable Blueprint Call
The position.We are not a bank, lender, or broker.
Next

Put it to work on
your own profile.

The Bankable Blueprint™ · 1:1 capital advisory for established business owners

Book a Bankable Blueprint Call